The Two MPs rejected Akufo-Addo’s ministerial jobs

According to information obtained by the Jubilee House on President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s recent reorganization of cabinet ministries, two Members of Parliament (MPs) who were proposed for important ministries turned down the chance to join the administration.

The president was informed “quite bluntly that they were not interested in serving in his government, citing personal reasons” by Dr. Nana Ayew Afriye and Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, the representatives of the Effiduase Asokore and Obuasi West constituencies in the Ashanti Region, respectively, according to sources from the Jubilee House.

It comes out that the MP for the Ashanti Region’s Effiduase Asokore district, Dr. Ayew Afriye, was nominated to the Ministry of Health, but he turned it down due to his moral opposition to the president’s expansive government.

The Two MPs rejected Akufo-Addo’s ministerial jobs

According to those close to him, the intelligent physician and lawmaker has constantly voiced concerns about the size of the Akufo-Addo administration and the necessity of its reduction in order to reduce the enormous spending.

The sources claim that the president was taken aback by the fact that the head of Parliament’s health committee was able to decline his invitation to become a minister.

Kwaku Agyeman Kwarteng, the MP for Obuasi West Constituency, expressed dissatisfaction with how the president had treated him and opted not to accept another ministerial position.

He “did not want another bite of the cake, having been sidelined for years,” The Herald’s insider told the newspaper.

The Herald was informed that Mr. Kwarteng, who served as a Deputy Minister at the Finance Ministry in the first term of President Akufo-Addo, conveyed his contentment with his role as the Chairman of parliament’s finance committee and declined any new appointment.

On Wednesday, February 14, 2024, President Akufo-Addo made his first major reshuffle in almost eight years.

Among those affected were the Minister of Finance, Ken Ofori-Atta, and the Minister of Roads and Highways, Kwasi Amoako-Atta.

Additionally, Minister for Health, Kwaku Agyeman Manu, and Minister for Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation, Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, were among those who lost their positions.

In total, 13 ministers and 10 deputies were relieved of their duties, with some being reassigned to different roles within the government.

Akosua Boatemaa

I'm Yours Truly, Blogger Akosua Boatemaa. I'm here to feed Your eyes and Ears with Authentic News Updates.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off your Ads Blocker to better serve you and provide you with the best.