Top 20 managers of past decade named as Jurgen Klopp and Pep Guardiola beaten to top spot

The International Federation of Football History and Statistics have named the top 20 managers of the past decade – and it’s bad news for the Premier League’s big names.

Diego Simeone has been named the best manager of the last decade, beating the likes of Jürgen Klopp and Jose Mourinho to the award.

The Atlético Madrid boss came out on top of the ranking compiled by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

Explaining their methodology, IFFHS said the final table was decided on a points-based system taking into account their annual categorization of football’s top bosses.

“The IFFHS has devised an equitable method for determining the World’s best club coach of the decade 2011-2020,” they wrote on their website.

“It was taken in consideration the TOP 20 of each yearly ranking of each category concerned and allocated points to each place. So the first placed received 20 points, the second placed 19 points, the third placed 18 points … And 1 point for the twentieth place.

Simeone finished above Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola in second, Liverpool boss Klopp was third and Jose Mourinho of Tottenham was fourth.

Making up the top five is former Juventus and Milan manager Massimiliano Allegri.

Former Arsenal boss Unaï Emery is a surprise entrant in sixth place and, despite retiring in 2013, Manchester United great Sir Alex Furguson still makes the list in 13th place.

Simeone was appointed Atlético boss in 2011 and has since helped return the club to both the Spanish and European elite.

Breaking the duopoly of rivals Real and Barcelona, the Argentine led his side to a famous La Liga title win in 2014.

Simeone also oversaw a Copa del Rey victory 12 months earlier as well as reaching Champions League finals in 2014 and 2016, although both ended in defeat to their city rivals.

He has, however, led the club to two Europa League wins in 2012 and 2018.

This season, the club currently sit top of La Liga with a four point lead over Real with two games in hand.

“Simeone realized a great performance with his club Atlético de Madrid in this decade : 1 LaLiga title, 1 Copa del Rey, 1 Super Copa Espana, 2 UEFA Europa League titles, 2 UEFA Super Cup titles and 2 times Runner-Up in UEFA Champions League Finals!

“His regularity and his power made the difference to win the Award of the Decade 2011-2020.”

Full list (Points)

  1. Diego Simeone 152
  2. Josep Guardiola 144
  3. Jürgen Klopp 105
  4. Jose Mourinho 91
  5. Maximiliano Allegri 77
  6. Unaï Emery 70
  7. Zinedine Zidane 59
  8. Carlo Ancelotti 57
  9. Mauricio Pochettino 56
  10. Marcelo Gallardo 56
  11. Antonio Conte 53
  12. Claudio Ranieri 36
  13. Alex Ferguson 35
  14. Luis Enrique 35
  15. Josef Heynckes 34
  16. Ernesto Valverde 26
  17. Arsene Wenger 25
  18. Leonardo Jardim 25
  19. Jesse Marshusa 22
  20. Laurent Blanc 21


Joseph Asare, a freelance journalist, a blogger and loves the internet

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button