GFA Increases Prize Money Of 2023/2024 Ghana Premier League

Kurt Okraku, President of the Ghana Football Association (GFA), has announced intentions to increase the prize money for the winners of the Ghana Premier League in the forthcoming 2023/2024 league season.

This statement was given on August 29, 2023, at the Eastern Premier Hotel in Koforidua, Eastern Region, during the opening of the next league campaign.

Medeama Sporting Club won the title the previous season and got a prize of GH300,000, an amount that prompted condemnation from the football community. Many considered this sum to be insufficient and unrepresentative of Ghana’s elite squad.

In light of this, Mr. Okraku’s latest announcement implies that the champion of the 2023/24 league season would get a GH500,000 award, as well as a trophy and 40 medals.

GFA Increases Prize Money Of 2023/2024 Ghana Premier League

The runner-up will receive GH200,000, while the third-place team will receive GH100,000. Mr. Okraku emphasized that this season’s changes would also include monetary awards for clubs finishing fourth through tenth in the standings.

His goal for the upcoming season is to boost the league’s competitive spirit.

“To increase the competitiveness of the league, the Ghana Football Association will reward from the first to the 10th place in the 2023/24 betPawa Premier League,” he said.

Previously, Accra Hearts of Oak won a GH250,000 award for their success in the 2020/21 season. next that, Kumasi Asante Kotoko received the same amount for finishing first the next season.

The previous season saw a little growth, with Medeama SC emerging as champions and earning a prize of GH300,000 for their outstanding performance.




Akosua Boatemaa

I'm Yours Truly, Blogger Akosua Boatemaa. I'm here to feed Your eyes and Ears with Authentic News Updates.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button