2023 Ballon D’or Ceremony: List of winners to be named

At an event in Paris on Monday night, the winners of the Ballon d’Or will be revealed. Argentina’s Lionel Messi is the clear favorite to win the men’s category for the eighth time.

Starting at 19:45 GMT, you can watch the event live on the BBC Sport app, website, Red Button, and BBC iPlayer.

The men’s and women’s shortlists each include seven English athletes.

However, following their victories in the World Cup last year, Messi and Aitana Bonmati of Spain are anticipated to receive the two prizes.

The 25-year-old midfielder for Barcelona and Spain, Bonmati, was just awarded the Golden Ball for the best Women’s World Cup player and named Uefa Women’s Player of the Year.

Messi has already won a record seven trophies in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021. He is currently at Inter Miami.

2023 Ballon D’or Ceremony: List of winners to be named

Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal is in second with five, but he won’t be adding a sixth this year as, for the first time since 2003, he is not on the shortlist.

The previous year’s champion was Karim Benzema of France.

The 30-man shortlist includes seven Manchester City players, including record-breaking goal scorer Erling Haaland, and English players Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, and Harry Kane.

Among the contenders for the women’s prize are Millie Bright, Rachel Daly, Mary Earps, and Georgia Stanway, the Lionesses quartet.

Only the fifth version of the Ballon d’Or Feminin has been held; the previous two were won by Bonmati’s Spain and Barcelona teammate, Alexia Putellas.

There are several other awards up for grabs too.

Rasmus Hojlund of Manchester United and Bellingham of Real Madrid are two of the ten players on the shortlist for the Kopa Trophy, which is given to the finest young player.

Aaron Ramsdale, the goalkeeper for Arsenal and England, is one of four Premier League goalkeepers nominated for the Yashin Trophy, which is awarded to the finest goalie in the world.

In addition, there will be awards for club of the year, Socrates Award, which honors humanitarian activities, and Gerd Muller Trophy, which goes to the striker who scores the most goals for both club and nation.

Akosua Boatemaa

I'm Yours Truly, Blogger Akosua Boatemaa. I'm here to feed Your eyes and Ears with Authentic News Updates.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off your Ads Blocker to better serve you and provide you with the best.